Article Round-Up

I knew it had been a while but I hadn’t realized it has been over a month since I last posted.  The holidays and life have gotten in the way and kept me fairly busy.  Additionally the last couple weeks politically have been more than enough that I haven’t felt like doing much of anything in a while.  I’m back though, just with some interesting articles, but do have plans for three or four posts coming up; they’re all related to resources I’ve created at work, but that I found out more information about than could fit in those resources.  I’m not exactly sure of a time frame for those, but since I already have the research and just have to write the posts and find images, they should go pretty easily and will come out soon.  Now, articles!

Since there was just a Presidential Inauguration, I’ve had a lot of presidential
articles pop up in my various feeds.  This one’s about presidential
scandals from the beginning of the U.S. until the early 20th century.

Someone I’d never heard of before: Joan Trumpauer Mulholland.  She was a
freedom rider and the first white member of Delta Sigma Theta, going
against family traditions and values.

“The Elaborate Wig-Snatching Schemes of the 18th Century”

“The Faces of Long-Gone Women Tell a New Story of the Kansas State Prison”

In Europe they’re already in the midst of the World War I centennial; in the U.S.,
we’re just coming up on it.  These are some British political cartoons from the period.

“The Scandalous, Narcissistic 19th-Century Countess Who Became Her Own Muse”

One thought on “Article Round-Up

  1. Hi Bronwyn ~ I told you I was updating my WordPress Blog , so I slipped in to see yours ! WOW ! I could read on your blog all day long . Not kidding ! It is a great resource and it fits you and your area of interests so perfectly. I read through some of the articles . I have to say , I loved the article on the public wig snatchers ! That was hilarious! I do know that was a scandal that upset the rich. Those wigs were very difficult to come by and still are now. I do believe they are worn in court to this date ! Can you imagine being a lawyer ? My website is still not up but I keep gathering eager followers! I have had a bit of a set back . I am embarrassed to say . I have been in so much pain that I have not been able to sit up and read or type. I can’t wash my hair or put on my bra. My poor Daddy has had to wash my hair in the sink as when I was a little girl . The pain is in my left neck shoulder and moves all down my left arm . I am exhausted with it. So I went to doctor yesterday and he thinks it is bursitis or a pinched nerve . It is inflamed and I can’t rest or eat . The pain is so bad .
    Oh Well! I am out of commission! HA!
    I love your blog dear Mother Bronwyn ! LOL ! Take care . I know you are busy so do it feel you must write back each time I write.
    Have a great day !
    Dawn

    Like

Leave a Reply

